
Welcome to the Virginia APS Online Report Portal 

• If you have an emergency that requires immediate assistance from law 
enforcement, the fire department, or an ambulance call 911 FIRST. 

• Call 911 before making an APS report, if you are reporting a suspected crime such 
as sexual assault or physical abuse of an older or incapacitated adult that results 
in serious injury to the adult, so police can protect the victim, gather evidence, 
and speak with witnesses in a timely manner. 

• The APS portal is available 24/7 to make non-emergency APS reports of 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of adults 60 years of age or older and 
incapacitated adults aged 18 or older. 

• Do not enter a report about child abuse in the portal. 

• Technical assistance is not available to help you enter or complete an online 
report. 

• If you do not want to use the portal to make an APS report, contact the 24-hour 
APS Hotline at 1-888-832-3858 or during normal business hours Monday-Friday 
contact the appropriate local department of social services APS unit.  

• You will be asked to provide the name, age, and location of the adult, information 
about the alleged perpetrator and details about the incident of maltreatment. You 
may want to gather this information together before you begin entering the report.  

• Required report fields are indicated with an * and must be completed. 

• A partially completed report cannot be saved and accessed later. Please 
complete the report in one sitting. 

• You can upload and attach up to 3 photos or documents to the report. Videos 
can’t be uploaded or attached.  

• Once you complete your online report you will be required to verify and submit 
the report. If you do not click the submit button and receive a confirmation, the 
information you entered will be discarded and cannot be retrieved. 

• If you provided your email address in the report an email with an ID number to 
track your online APS report will be sent to you. Keep this information secure. If it 
is lost, the system is unable to reissue the information. 

• You can enter this ID number in the Reports Status Search feature on the portal 
website to see if your report was accepted by the local department of social 
services. You may return to this website at any time and use the Report Status 
Search feature to check the status of the online APS report you submitted. 

• Malicious Reports: Pursuant to §63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, any person 14 
years of age or older who makes or causes to be made a report of adult abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation that he knows to be false is guilty of a Class 4 
misdemeanor. Any subsequent conviction of the provision is a Class 2 
misdemeanor. 


